Before the Test Checklist: Deadly Landing Page Sins

Posted by | Comments

Tags:


You hear it loud and often on this blog: test, test, test. Nothing can replace iterative improvements backed by data. Nothing settles debates about usability faster. 

That having been said, before you run your first test, you need to dot the i’s and cross the t’s. You need to make sure you know how stable and predictable the traffic is, you need to know what qualifies as a successful conversion, and you need to ensure that the pages you will be testing are sound to begin with.

That last one can be trickier than it sounds. There are tons of things that can go wrong, especially when you have a lot of competing goals for the landing page. If you are designing it with a committee, you’re typically in danger of trying to accommodate everyone’s requests – which in turn, heightens the risk of creating unclear calls-to-action, and adding visual distractions.

That’s two sins, off the bat, and we haven’t even gotten to forms, layouts, and text yet.

Find out what the rest of the worst mistakes are, and what you can do to correct them. Register for UserTesting.com's free webinar "The Top 7 Landing Page Mistakes to Avoid by Tim Ash." 

Wednesday, March 27th - 11am PST/2pm EST - 12pm PST/3pm EST